Ashden Awards Ceremony

"Many, many people look forward to the annual Ashden Awards Ceremony as one of the most uplifting events of the year!"
Jonathon Porritt, Co-Founder of Forum for the Future and Acting Chair of Ashden

Held at the Royal Geographical Society in central London and open to everyone, the Awards Ceremony is a highlight of the sustainable energy calendar and in 2017 will take place on 15 June. Our keynote speaker is none other than former Vice-President of the USA Al Gore.

We are delighted that former Vice-President of the USA, Al Gore will be the keynote speaker of the 2017 Ashden Awards Ceremony. It’s ten years since he hosted the Ashden Awards Ceremony for us in 2007, the year of his ground-breaking film, An Inconvenient Truth, and now, as An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power is being released in the cinemas, he’s back.

Come along to hear his views on the progress since the historic agreement made at COP21 in Paris last year, how the current political environment will affect efforts to encourage divestment from fossil fuels, and how this year’s winners are contributing to the fight against climate change.

During the evening short films on the winners are broadcast, followed by presentation of the Awards. A private reception is held for special guests.

The awards are given in different categories and in 2017 there will be a new international Powering Business Award recognising efforts by enterprises or programmes which provide or use clean energy or energy efficiency in the provision of goods and services through business activities.

Since 2001, we have been honoured to have world-leading figures as guest speakers: HRH Prince Charles, Ms Wangari Maathai, Sir David Attenborough, Dr Kandeh Yumkella, David Cameron MP, Hilary Benn MP, Greg Barker MP, Lord May of Oxford and Dr RK Pachauri.

In 2016 our ceremony was hosted by BBC News presenter and journalist Mishal Husain with a keynote speech by Rachel Kyte, CEO of SE4All and Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General.

Buy tickets for the 2017 Awards Ceremony.